An ideal day for sheep

A passel of content lambs on this cool, sunny, day

A passel of content lambs on this cool, sunny, day

Hoglah hard at work

Hoglah hard at work

IMG_8963Hoglah finally had her twins late last week.  Today is the first day I have felt like taking pictures since then.  First we had hot and muggy days where the only times the lambs frolicked was after dark.  Then we had rainy, soggy, chilly.  Who wants to look at pictures of damp, hunched back little lambs.

But today, now that is a different story.  I think this might be the sort of day a sheep would order if they could do such a thing.  It included enough wind to keep the bugs at bay, temps in the 50’s F and bright sunshine with just a few clouds.  I enjoyed it too.

The lows in the 20’s F predicted for tonight may suit the sheep better than me, though.  I’ve got the tender plants in the hoophouse covered with floating row cover, so hopefully they will survive.  I’m already sad for the tree fruit that will probably not happen this summer because of this pesky frost.

Hoglah also had a ram and a ewe lamb.  With this 3 makes a pattern on my farm where each ewe had one of each, it makes me wonder if this is always the case or just a coincidence.  I guess I could ask around, or do some research online, or just continue to make observations here on the farm.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Farm, Natural world, Research

Leave a Reply

