Hay safely under cover… What a glorious feeling!

I’m learning that making hay is very stressful. Most of the stress has to do with moisture – rain, dew, humidity.

Because of moisture, I’ve added a new word to my vocabulary:

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/tedder

ted·der noun \ˈte-dər\

Definition of TEDDER: one that teds; specifically : a machine for stirring and spreading hay to hasten drying and curing

First Known Use of TEDDER: 15th century

I think of it as a “fluffer” for hay.  And, I was pleased to discover that there is one available in the neighborhood to rent because we had a bumper crop of clover this year.  Another thing I learned is that clover is loaded full of moisture and takes a really long time to dry.  Our hay might have molded if we hadn’t been able to use the tedder.

Raking hay after it is "fluffed" with a tedder is a challenge.

Raking hay after it is “fluffed” with a tedder is a challenge.

Rain held off!

Rain held off!

Well cured hay smells...Delicious!

Well cured hay smells…Delicious!

A rare sight: Farmer Jane on steel

A rare sight: Farmer Jane on steel

6 Comments

Filed under Farm, Seasons

6 responses to “Hay safely under cover… What a glorious feeling!

  1. Thanks to your photos my nose is remembering the sweet smell of freshly baled hay.

    • Jane Hansen

      Oh cool! My nose loves the smell, and yet also tickles a bit from a minor case of allergies each July and hay making season.

  2. Julie Baum

    Nice work – Tedder – new word for me too! I like the shot of you on the tractor the best!

    • Jane Hansen

      Ah thanks! I usually just work away with no one around to capture it with a camera. But, a friend was interested in participating in haying, so I handed him the camera and asked him to get a few shots.

  3. Martha's friend

    You and your Allis Chalmers are a pair, Jane.

Leave a Reply

